“Czech Music Night” Jasmina Kulaglich & Soloists of the “Orchestre National de France” | Béziers, France


Soloists of the “Orchestre National de France”

Nguyen Huu Nguyen, violin

Benjamin Estienne, violin

Teodor Coman, viola

Oana Unc, cello


Jasmina Kulaglich, piano

will give the concert dedicated to the Czech music on February 4, 2023 at the Théâtre de Béziers.


The “Czech Music Night” program harmoniously brings together two great Czech composers, Dvorak and Suk, by offering trio, quartet and quintet formations for piano and strings.
The program begins with one of his most famous piano trios, “Dumky”, consisting of several “dumas” – a term often used by Slavic composers to name introspective musical pieces interspersed with light and happy movements.

The second Quintet for piano and strings is one of the all-time great works for this ensemble. Composed in the same key of A Major as the first quintet written by Dvorak, it is amply developed in four movements, where we cen hear again an epic ballad “Dumka”.

To these two works is joined the “Meditation for string quartet on the old Czech chorale in honor of Saint Wenceslas” by Josef Suk. A Czech composer, Suk was a pupil of Dvorak, but he gradually freed himself from the influence of his master to adopt a relatively modern language. Composing mainly symphonic music, he left several important works in chamber music.

In the program “Czech Music Evening” the synergy of interpretation between Jasmina Kulaglich and the Soloists of the Orchestre National de France is based on their long-standing friendship and musical complicity.


Program “Czech Music Night”


Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)

Trio for piano and strings in E minor “Dumky” op.90

  • Dumka I Lento maestoso – Allegro quasi doppio movimento
  • Dumka II  Poco adagio – Vivace non troppo – Vivace
  • Dumka III  Andante – Vivace non troppo – Allegretto
  • Dumka IV  Andante moderato – Allegro scherzando – Quasi tempo di marcia
  • Dumka V  Allegro
  • Dumka VI  Lento maestoso – Presto


Josef Suk (1874-1935)

Meditation for string quartet on the ancient Czech chorale in honor of Saint Venceslas op. 35a

Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)

Piano Quintet No.2 in A major op. 81

  • Allegro ma non tanto
  • Dumka. Andante con moto
  • Scherzo (Furiant). Molto vivace
  • Finale. Allegro


download the porfolio czech music night